Posted in Random

Surviving 2013

I was going to write a post about the unlucky number 13. About how bad 2013 sucked and all the things that went wrong. I could have made a list of bad luck, bad timing and bad moods.

But then I realized a lot of good things happened this year, too.

In no particular order:

I got to see Angel Pagan’s inside-the-park walk-off home run. http://wapc.mlb.com/play?content_id=31198219&topic_id=8878828

My son made captain of his JV football team.

My husband got a new job that he enjoys.

We were finally able to refinance our mortgage. Saving a little money each month is always a good thing.

I found out I’m not allergic to bee stings, even though they hurt like crazy.

I have amazing co-workers who are incredible educators. I realize every day how lucky my kids were to go through their elementary school years with such talented and dedicated teachers and support staff.

I make a difference in the lives of children.

I get the same holidays off as my own children. A week off at Thanksgiving. Two weeks off at Christmas. Spring Break and summer vacation. So I’m not getting paid, but you can’t put a price on having that time, even if we’re all doing our own things.

I signed my first book contract. And my second. After countless rejections, (ok, I did count them, it’s more than some, fewer than others), I found an editor who loves my book. And a publisher who is willing to take a chance on me.

I started a blog, created a website and am making strides toward building my author platform. I’m not as terrified of the marketing side of writing as I was before. With the support of fellow authors and my family and friends, I think I will find an audience that isn’t related to me.

I finally finished the backsplash in my kitchen. It only took seven years? I don’t know. But it looks nice. Except for that one grout line that’s kind of crooked. But if I splash enough tomato sauce on it, no one will notice, right?

My husband does the laundry. Talk about being a lucky girl. He also makes my coffee and the kids’ lunches. He knows when to leave me alone and let me write and when to drag me out of the house (and out of my head) to enjoy what time we have left with both kids at home.

Yeah, I’ve got it pretty good.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

Leave a comment