Posted in Writing

Getting Lost, Again

IMG_2647

Last week I wrote about getting lost on the way to the mall. I did make it to my husband’s office to pick him up the day before Thanksgiving. So I’m not completely hopeless. It helped that there was a baseball field right across the street from his office. It gave me a landmark to know I was getting close.

I’m feeling a little lost in my WIP (work-in-progress) right now. I know where I want to go with this book, but I can’t seem to find the on-ramp. I have my opening scene, the part where the hero and heroine meet for the first time, and the situation that will keep them in close proximity long enough to fall in love. I have a few complications in mind, and I have some idea of how the heroine is going to meet her goals. I’m just not sure yet about the hero. What is his ultimate goal? He thinks he knows what he really wants, but he’s not sure if he deserves it.

I’m a pantster. Outlines, character charts, color-coded sticky notes make me break out in hives. I have to discover my story organically. I learn about my characters as I get to know them. They often surprise me.

So, I need to get back in the driver’s seat, fasten my seatbelt, plug in my iPod and get ready for a long ride. I need to keep my destination in mind. I’ll make sure I stop by the important landmarks along the way. And I won’t try to take any shortcuts, because I’ll just end up getting even more lost.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Getting Lost, Again

Leave a Reply

