Posted in Adventure, Teenagers

Every Day Is Mother’s Day

stencil.default

Forget Breakfast in bed, flowers, or a card that costs more than all of my eBooks combined. I’ve never been one for traditional gifts. And the men (my kids are teenagers and bigger than me) in my life know that. Forget jewelry, sweet raspberry topped breakfast foods, flowers that will die and I’ll have to clean out the smelly water in a few weeks when I finally discover “what is that smell?”

Sleeping in, having the coffee ready when I finally decide to get out of bed, and letting me watch old movies while I sip such coffee and write are more my style. I wouldn’t mind if my boys plant the bulbs we bought for my youngest’s debate team fundraiser. I enjoy flowers in their natural habitat. My front yard is a nice little oasis, and when it warms up just a bit will be my summer office.

Motherhood is a job but it’s also an adventure. And the rewards can’t be put in a card. I’ve had many moments in my 19 years of motherhood that are more rewarding than jewelry, flowers, or even a good night’s sleep.

Here are a few photos to illustrate why every day is Mother’s Day.

20140518_195242760_iOS20161112_201219890_iOS20160503_143937000_iOS20160503_144022000_iOS20161015_224630990_iOS20170326_181058218_iOS

 

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Every Day Is Mother’s Day

  1. Cute pics. Motherhood can indeed be very rewarding, but for a romance writer, you aren’t very traditional in the romance department. I guess it’s as subjective as writing itself, what one person wants and loves, another hates or could do without.

    Happy Mother’s Day!!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

    1. I’ll take a family who helps out every day over one day of being treated like a Princess. My husband makes my coffee every day, fixes lunches most school days, does 97 percent of the laundry. My boys unload the dishwasher, although begrudgingly, they walk the dog, and help their grandparents. My college boy picks up his tother from school when he’s not working or in class. They’re not perfect ( you should see their rooms, but then you can’t unsee them), but in many ways they are so much more Thani ever dreamed of.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

