Posted in Baseball, Books, Uncategorized

On Celebrations And Milestones

The baseball season is underway, and today the San Francisco Giants will host their home opener. My phone battery is wearing out with all the MLB At Bat Alerts. My favorites are the off-beat stats such as the Giants and Milwaukee Brewers made history by being the first two teams to bat the pitchers eight on Opening Day.

baseball grass

In a sport that has been played since the 1800s, I find it fascinating that there are still firsts. Such as the Rockies Rookie Trevor Story who became the first rookie to homer in his first three games. In recent years there have been several interesting stories, such as Dallas Braden becoming the first pitcher in Major League history to throw a perfect game for his first career complete game. Or The Texas Rangers’ starting pitcher Colby Lewis, becoming the first Major League baseball player to be granted paternity leave. These and many other facts can be found on the Baseball Almanac’s website here: http://www.baseball-almanac.com/firsts/first15.shtml

 

Then there are the firsts for each season (See: The official “Firsts of 2016” from the official MLB site here: http://m.mlb.com/news/article/170294934/new-mlb-season-rings-in-with-plenty-of-firsts).

While some aspects of the game have evolved. The first game was broadcast on the radio in 1921, and now I can listen to a live game on my phone. But every ballgame is preceded by a song that was written in 1814. Then we sing along to another song written in 1908 in the middle of the seventh inning stretch.

It’s exciting to celebrate the game’s firsts. And as the season unfolds, there will be many other milestones. Perhaps the 24th Perfect Game will be pitched. Or a new home run record by left-handed pitchers will be set. Several players will be looking for their 500th, 1000th, or 1500th hit. Pitchers might be looking for their 200th win or 1000th strike-out.

As an author I am celebrating an important milestone. It’s the two-year anniversary of my debut novel. Better Than Perfect was released on April 7, 2014. I currently have four published novels, and my fifth book will be out in July.

Wow. Five books. That I wrote. Five books that people can read on their Kindle, Kobo, Nook, iPad, or phone. Five books that can be ordered in print and tucked into a beach bag or purse or briefcase.

SWEPT AWAY [23795120]

And to think, just six years ago I was trying to work up the courage to attend my first Romance Writers of America meeting. Thankfully, I made it to that June 2010 meeting where I was welcomed into an interesting club of authors at all stages of their writing journey.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “On Celebrations And Milestones

  1. Good for you! I remember meeting you at one of your first RWA meetings. Win, win for me.

    Congratulations on all of the books and many, many more to come.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

