Posted in Random

Back To The Future or Blast From The Past?

If you’ve been anywhere near the Internet today, you know today is the day that Marty and Doc went “Back To The Future” to from 1985. You’ve probably seen comments about the lack of flying cars or hoverboards (which I’m still not sure if they exist or not), and the ones about the video phones and computer glasses. So some of the predictions came true and some did not. And unless they pull off a comeback of epic proportions, I don’t think the Cubs will win the World Series.

But what I find interesting about all of the buzz is that I’m experience my own form of time machine. Taking me back to the 80s.

My teenage son bought a 1982 Mustang. It’s pretty much in original condition and boy does it transport me back in time. There are push buttons to change the station on the tape player. If I only had my cassettes of Journey, Billy Squier, Loverboy, Men At Work, John Cougar, and Van Halen. But there is Jack FM, that plays the old favorites, Stone In Love, Everybody Wants You, Working For The Weekend, Jack And Diane, and Pretty Woman. Not to mention I Love Rock ‘N Roll, Eye of The Tiger, No One Like You, and 867-5309. All of these songs are now “Classics?”

And the clothes. It cracks me up to see some of the clothes the high school kids are wearing. Leggings with oversized shirts. The plaid. The neon. Throw in some really big earrings and even bigger hair and we’d be right back in 1985.

If the 80s nostalgia wasn’t enough, there is a new Star Wars movie coming out. I was a kid when Luke first learned of the Jedi. I was in 2nd Grade the first time I dressed up as Princess Leia. I will probably dress up as her again this year. I still remember the way I felt when I heard the opening credits and read the words, “A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…” I used to practice falling forward on my bed like R2D2. I cheered when Luke’s last shot made the direct hit to blow up the Death Star, and I was in shock when we all found out that Darth Vader was Luke’s father.

I watched the videos and DVDs with my kids. We went to see the prequel trilogy in the theater and while my kids enjoyed the modern special effects, I tried to convey just how spectacular the original trilogy’s special effects were to those of us who had never seen anything like it.

My 13-year-old son likes to listen to the movie soundtracks on the way to school. There is something to be said for starting your day off feeling like you’re ready to conquer the galaxy.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Back To The Future or Blast From The Past?

  1. The 1980’s were pretty special indeed. Lots of crazy stuff today reminds me of the ’80’s. But then again, we pretty much live in a society of anything goes these days, so some things remind me of the ’60’s too. I wish society as a whole would go back to the 1930’s and 1940’s when people had manners. That would be a nice transport.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

