Posted in Adventure, Road Trip

What I Did On My Summer Vacation

I recently got back from a family vacation to the Washington D.C. area. It was the first vacation I’ve taken in years that didn’t involve any writing. Not even on the plane. I barely had time to post to Facebook that I was actually standing in front of the Gutenberg Bible.

I did stop by the Books-A-Million Store in D.C. to get a look at my books in a real bookstore. It was pretty cool, and kind of surreal to find the books I had written sitting on a bookstore shelf. The employees were really nice and they were thrilled to talk to me about my books and have me sign the copies they had on the shelf.

IMG_0697

IMG_0699

The rest of the trip was spent walking and doing all the touristy things.

IMG_0654

The White House

IMG_0649

The Lincoln Memorial

IMG_0675

The Library Of Congress where I did see the Gutenberg Bible.

IMG_0669

Pretty amazing.

We also went to Mt. Vernon

IMG_0689

Washington Monument

IMG_0661

Gettysburg and the Arlington National Cemetery but I didn’t take pictures.

We spent a lot of time walking, riding the subway, and waiting in line with thousands of school kids, or as my soon-to-be-Senior son looks down upon, upcoming Freshmen.

We did catch a ballgame at Camden Yards. And since the head groundskeeper is a woman and the heroine of my next baseball book is also a grounds keeper, I guess I did work after all.

A good thing, since I got my next round of edits on my fourth book when I landed at LAX.

Vacation is over. I’ve got editing to do, emails to catch up on, and a few blog posts to write for my upcoming blog tour for my third book, Making A Comeback, which comes out on July 7. That’s in two weeks. Better get busy.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “What I Did On My Summer Vacation

  1. Sounds like a blast. That’s a trip I’ve always wanted to take but have yet to get there. Bucket list, bucket list.

    Good luck with the edits.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

