Posted in Baseball, Books, Romance, Writing

In It For The Long Game

I generally don’t look at the baseball standings the first month or so of the season. Too many weird things can happen. In the early weeks some teams were still undefeated and a couple of teams hadn’t yet won a game. My San Francisco Giants went on an eight game losing streak. But I’ve been a fan of the game long enough to know that if the Defending World Series Champions can lose eight games in a row, so can any other team.

My rule for years was to not even worry about the standings until Little League season ended in mid-June. I no longer have Little Leaguers, but it’s a good plan. It’s too early to get too excited if your team is ahead and there’s plenty of baseball left to make up some ground if your team is behind. The important thing is if a team can be at or above .500 in the middle of May, there’s still a chance.

I try not to get too worried when my team loses, but it doesn’t always work.

Just like I try not too obsess over my book ranking on Amazon and at other booksellers. When my ranking improves, I get excited. It’s like scoring a run. When my ranking hits the top 100 for Genre Fiction- Sports, it’s like a victory. But when my ranking drops, or my Novel Rank app shows I haven’t sold a book in days, I get a little down.

One thing I’ve learned in the year since my first book went on sale, is that I’m in this for the long haul. Each sale is important, but I’ve got to look at the big picture. I have four books available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iTunes, Google and probably a few other retailers I don’t even know about. Two of those books are available in eBook and print. The other two are available for preorder with releases coming in July and January. How cool is that?

books in the series

Sometimes I feel like the competition is too great. There are too many books out there, how are my readers going to find me? How can I compete with the really big name authors that hit the bestseller lists the second their book comes out? But then my husband will send me a picture of my book sitting higher in rank than John Grisham. John Grisham.

20140709_044546000_iOS

Or I’ll get a great review that totally makes my day.

20150223_155223000_iOS

I am a writer. It’s what I do. I can’t stop writing. I can’t keep the stories from filling my head. So I might as well keep publishing my books. And hopefully my perseverance will pay off. Some of my favorite players have shown steady improvement over the years. Sure everyone would love to be MVP their rookie year like Buster Posey, but I doubt Tim Hudson doesn’t value his ring any less after waiting years for it.

And when I do hit the bestseller lists, I’ll appreciate it no matter how long it takes me to get there.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “In It For The Long Game

  1. Eat your heart out John Grisham. (Although I’m pretty sure he doesn’t give a hoot where he’s sitting in the rankings.) But still – eat your heart out John Grisham.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

