Posted in Books, Writing

Today Is My One Year Bookaversary!

A year ago today, Better Than Perfect, made its entry into the world.

Portrait of baseball player with bare chest holding bat

In the year since I became a published author, so much has happened.

I’ve done blog tours.

NBtM Better than Perfect Banner copy

Given away gift baskets for several charity events.

20140519_212241980_iOS

I attended my first Romance Writers of America Conference and my first Publisher’s Cocktail Party.

image001

I’ve made many new friends with authors and readers, both in person and online.

I read reviews of my books, many of them bringing me to tears (yes, especially the good ones).

I’ve been surprised by the number of men who have not only read, but enjoyed my book.

I have learned the hard way that an Amazon ranking that changes hourly isn’t necessarily a good thing.

I have an Amazon ranking. And an author page. And reviews. And the top review is the one that says “a well written story, but not my favorite.”

Reviews from your friends and your friend’s mom mean a lot to you, but reviews from strangers are pretty cool, too.

Some four star reviews are more critical than some three star reviews.

It’s pretty cool to be sitting on a bestseller list with Stephen King or John Grisham, even if it is only for an hour.

20140709_044546000_iOS

Most people have been incredibly supportive of me and my writing. I know other’s have found some people look down on the Romance Genre, but not the people I’ve met.

I’ve also gone through some changes. Like my cover.

Original cover of Better Than Perfect
Original cover of Better Than Perfect

My editor and publicist. Oh, and Lyrical Press, a small digital publisher became part of Kensington Books. For me, it has been a good thing.

There is nothing quite like holding your books in print. Or getting a whole box of them.

20141112_235009211_iOS

I can’t wait to see what the next year brings.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Today Is My One Year Bookaversary!

  1. And through it all, you’ve weathered it like a champ – a San Francisco Giants champ! Here’s to another fantastic year! Eat your hearts out Grisham and King.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

