Posted in Baseball, Romance, Writing

2014 What A Year

2014

As 2014 draws to a close, I realize a lot has happened this year. With my writing. With my family. For my San Francisco Giants.

The year started with a bit of uncertainty. The small digital publisher I had signed my first book contract with announced the sale to Kensington Books. My first fear was that they wouldn’t want my books. My second fear was that I’d be writing for a huge corporation and the personal touch I’d felt from my editor would disappear. I was offered a contract for the two books, but I found out my editor would not be continuing on. I was assigned a new editor and a publicist with the family-owned publisher. My first book was still scheduled to release on time.

The first four months of the year were spent getting ready for my debut novel, Better Than Perfect. I got my first book cover.

Original cover of Better Than Perfect
Original cover of Better Than Perfect

But when they were creating the cover for the second book, Worth The Trade, they changed the cover so they would be more consistent.

 

Portrait of baseball player with bare chest holding bat Cover Worth The Trade

 

I participated in Blog tours.

NBtM Better than Perfect Banner copy

Donated a gift basket to Brenda Novak’s Online Auction for Diabetes Research.

20140519_212241980_iOS

And got ready for my second book launch which had been moved up from September to July.

More blog tours.

KMReleaseParty copy NBtM Worth the Trade Tour Banner copy

I went to my first Romance Writers of America National Conference in San Antonio. I had my first book signing, went to my first party for Kensington Authors. I met many of the people who made it possible for my books to find readers. I  met many fabulous authors. I also experienced this phenomenon called “humidity.” It took me a few days to get used to it, but then I enjoyed the River Walk in short bursts. I never made it to the Alamo, though. Too many workshops and networking opportunities.

image001

When I got home, I worked to get the third book in the More Than A Game series off to my editor. I will send off final copy edits before the end of the year. I will complete the fourth book in the next month or so.

Writing-wise, 2014 has been an amazing year. I hope 2015 will bring even more writing success.

For my family, they got to spend a lot of time skiing, as my oldest son joined the high school ski team. His dad, a former Cougar skier, spent time on the slopes assisting. We even got to spend my son’s 16th birthday at Mammoth, where he attended a ski camp with his teammates.

20140503_162608000_iOS

This fall, my son played Varsity football. As a Junior, he didn’t start, playing mostly special teams and backup linebacker. But he made player of the week as a member of the scouting team, where he helped them beat a really tough team on their way to a 10-0 season.

We didn’t do a big family trip this year. Between my attendance at RWA, my oldest son’s football camps, and my youngest son’s trip with his grandparents to the Midwest, we were only able to spend the 4th of July week at our family cabin near Mt. Shasta. And a long weekend at Soldier Meadows.

We also spent some time on the American River, reliving my husbands other glory days as a whitewater raft guide. For the first time in 25 years, my big strong guide wasn’t able to keep me from falling out of the boat.

07-12-2014_SFA_TM_PVT-GRY_I00070033

My San Francisco Giants had a wild ride. It started at Fan Fest in February. I had a great time, the weather was perfect. The crowds not too crazy. Oh, and I got Hunter Pence’s autograph after his interview.

20140201_194712199_iOS IMG_0697

You can bet I’ll be going again next year.

The season started on a high note. They went on a ridiculous hot streak. Followed by an even more ridiculous slump. They barely made it to the playoffs, but they made it. And behind Madison Bumgarner, they won their 3rd World Series in five years. Pretty amazing.

 

And even though 2015 is an odd year, I think it’s going to be a good one.

 

 

 

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “2014 What A Year

Leave a Reply

