Posted in Baseball

Maybe I Just Needed A New Hat

Last Sunday I left my favorite hat at my Mother-in-law’s house. I wear a hat every day since I’ve developed a sensitivity to sunscreen. Nothing like having my face break out in a horrible rash at the RWA National Conference because I wore makeup with an SPF of 20.

So here’s the hat I’d been wearing all summer.

20140831_233439581_iOS

I like this hat. My husband bought it for me and it’s got the mesh back so it’s nice and cool on hot days.

But after leaving it behind, I had to wear a different hat. I have an authentic wool cap, but it’s still too hot in California. Plus, it doesn’t have the hole in the back I can loop my hair through on those really hot days. So I grabbed the hat I got last year as a giveaway. It was the day Angel Pagan hit his inside the park walkoff homerun. It’s a very special hat.

20140831_233449031_iOS

The Giants have gone 6-1 since I started wearing the hat. Madison Bumgarner took a Perfect Game into the 8th inning. Jake Peavy recorded his 2,000 strikeout as he flirted with a No-hitter through 8. Yusmeiro Petit broke a major-league record by retiring 46 consecutive batters (over multiple games). And Tim Hudson also recorded his 2,000 strikeout in a win over the Rockies. Buster Posey had his first two homerun game since 2010. Hunter Pence extended his hitting streak to thirteen games. And Manager Bruce Bochy earned his 1.600

I’m definitely sticking with this hat. The Giants look like the Giants again. The team that kept finding ways to win. Yeah, this is a team that looks like they have a shot at winning their third World Series this decade.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

5 thoughts on “Maybe I Just Needed A New Hat

  1. I think ball caps contain a great deal of untapped mojo! As for my Baltimore Orioles … they have gone 4-0 since my husband went out of town on Thursday … coincidence? No way. He’s supposed to be back tomorrow, but I’ve already suggested he stay away through the World Series! 🙂

    Like

  2. See there – a different perspective is all it takes sometimes. You’re seeing the world from beneath a different hat and things are bigger and brighter because of it. Here’s to the occasional new hat.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

Leave a Reply

