Posted in Baseball, Romance

The Bunting Is Down, But Hopes Are Still High

It’s been a week since my debut novel, Better Than Perfect, released. It was really good luck that my book fit in the publishing schedule to coincide with the start of the Major League Baseball season.

Opening Day is always a special time. Excitement is in the air. Hopes are high. This could be the best season yet. The players are ready, the grass is perfect, and the ballpark is decorated with bunting. It’s the best time to be a baseball fan. Anything is possible.

 baseball grass

My San Francisco Giants started the season hot. They went 5-2 winning their first two series on the road. Then they came home and after winning the opener, they lost two in a row. They’ve had their ups. Pitcher Madison Bumgarner hit a Grand Slam Friday night. They’ve had their downs. Matt Cain pitched a gem, only to lose 1-0 the next day. It’s still early, so I try not to get too worried when things don’t go the Giants’ way. I try. It’s not always easy. When you follow a team as long as I have, it’s hard not to get emotionally involved. I’m going to try to enjoy the highs, shake off the lows and hope for some memorable moments along the way.

My book has been out a week now. I’ve had some great moments. Oh-my-goodness, a 5 star review. Some low points, a DNF (did not finish) on Goodreads. I’m trying not to get too excited or depressed about my book’s Amazon ranking. Just like I’m not getting too excited about Pagan’s .412 batting average or depressed over Lincecum’s 9.90 ERA. Things will level off. So far the feedback I’ve gotten on my book has been positive. Even the less stellar reviews have liked parts of my book. I knew going into this that not everyone was going to like my work. I want to have some who love it, some who think it’s good, not great, and I expect to have a few people who won’t like it all.

Do I still get bummed out by the person who didn’t finish it? Heck yeah. Do I worry when my Amazon ranking drops 14,000 in just a few days? You bet. Just like I’m disappointed when Hunter Pence grounds out with runners in scoring position or if the bullpen can’t hold the lead in the late innings. But it’s a long season. I’m going to stick around for 162 games, and hope I get to put myself through more torture in the post season.

I also plan on making a career of my writing. Release day isn’t the only day my book will be available. Hopefully my sales will climb steadily, at least until my next book comes out. Then I hope the next book does even better. And then people might come back and check out the first one. I really hope that I can keep the series going. I don’t plan on being knocked out of the game any time soon.

But I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me. I’m working on books three and four in the More Than A Game series. I hope I can keep writing about the two things I’m most passionate about. Love and baseball.

NBtM Better than Perfect Banner copy

I will be continuing my blog tour with a stop at http://www.rachelbrimble.blogspot.co.uk . Please stop by.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “The Bunting Is Down, But Hopes Are Still High

  1. Wow – one week already? Time flies.

    You have the right attitude my friend. Don’t let those DNF reviews upset the apple cart. There’s going to be one in every crowd.

    Best of luck with the new books!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    P.S. I used the link above to follow the blog tour and it said it was non-functioning. Perhaps it’s a computer thing on my end, but you might want to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

