Posted in Romance, Writing

Missed The Tag

You know that feeling there is something important that you’re forgetting? Did I leave the coffee pot on? Yes, but it turns itself off. Did I leave the iron on? Ha Ha Ha! I can’t remember the last time I ironed something.

The lovely MJ Compton tagged me on her blog last week. You’ve probably seen the writer blog tag going around. And it seemed like a great idea at the time.

But I dropped the ball.

I was supposed to post my blog yesterday. I was also supposed to tag three other authors to keep the blog going.

Here is my blog post.

What am I working on?

My debut novel, Better Than Perfect comes out April 7. It is the first in the More Than A Game Series. My second book, Worth The Trade will be out in July. I’m currently working on the third book in the series, tentatively titled Making A Comeback. All three books feature baseball players who play or have played for the fictional San Francisco Goliaths.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My heroes are basically good guys. Even my bad boys have a good heart. They may be wealthy athletes, but they feel like they’re regular guys. If anything, the money is more of a burden than a blessing. They play for the love of the game, and they love like champions.

Why do I write what I do?

I love sports, especially baseball. I love the stories behind the players. Especially the stories of struggle in getting to the big leagues. I love the daily struggles during the game itself. I especially love a comeback, in the game or the game of love.

How does your writing process work?

I usually start with the gem of an idea. The hero usually comes to me first. Then I wonder, what does he want more than anything? What’s standing in his way? Who is the one woman who will help him get there? Or change his goals? I usually think of the black moment and resolution, then I sit down and write.

I wish I wrote faster. I wish I could get through a first draft without going back and tweaking things here or there, but sometimes I go back and reread what I’ve written and make little changes. When I’m finished, I put it aside, but never for very long. I try to start on the next project, which is usually nagging me by then, crying for attention.

Revision is actually easier for me. I write 1,000=2,000 words a day. I try to write most days. Sometimes I can get a big word count in over the weekend, but I find that working steady is a better process for me. When I’m ready to work on revisions, I send my document to my Kindle and highlight any changes I want to make. That way I don’t make a change only to find I’ve written the exact thing a paragraph later.

There is my writing process. If I can find three authors to tag, I will add them later.
Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Missed The Tag

  1. MJ,
    I was afraid of overextending myself with this first book launch. I’m sure I’ll make plenty of “errors” along the way.

    Just gotta get back in the box and swing for the fences on the next one.

    Hopefully the other two authors you tagged kept it going. I’ve seen a lot of posts on this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

