Posted in Baseball, Road Trip, Writing

What’s Your Walkup Song?

Baseball is a team game. But it is played by individuals. And each player has his own personality and story behind their swagger. A custom at Major League Baseball games (and Minor League, too) is for each player to chose a song that is played before each at bat, or for the pitchers, when they take the mound.

If you want to check out the San Francisco Giants player’s walk-up songs, here is the link. I hate to admit I don’t know a lot of these artists. But I’ll bet I recognize the songs once I hear them.

So I got to thinking, what would my Walk-up song be? If I were to play a song that sums up me as an author?

While I was submitting to agents, editors, and contests, my song would have been “The Waiting” by Tom Petty. It felt like asking someone to prom on the first day of school and having to wait until Spring for their answer. At least in most cases, you could submit to more than one publisher or agent. And dream of having to send out rejection letters of your own.

When receiving rejections, I kept my spirits up by singing, “Even The Losers” by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. Yeah, I’m a Tom Petty fan.

When we start a vacation, especially a road trip, I always start the trip off by playing Jimmy Buffet’s “Cheeseburger in Paradise.” It’s been a tradition since our Honeymoon.

After getting a harsh critique or getting stuck in my writing, I think of “After The Thrill Is Gone,” by the Eagles. But then I play “Get Over It” and get back to work.

So if I had to pick just one song that sums up my journey from aspiring to published author, it would have to be Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing.”

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

4 thoughts on “What’s Your Walkup Song?

  1. I don’t have a walk-up song. My tastes are too varied and they tend to match my moods, so it’d be hard to pick one or even two. I’d say I have lots of walk-up songs. Probably the songs that “get me going” so to speak would be “Sweet Home Alabama,” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, or “Proud Mary,” I like the CCR version. I love all that old school rock and roll. “Rock and Roll All Night,” by Kiss is another good one for getting your heart and feet pounding. “Walk This Way,” by Aerosmith is another one that comes to mind.

    And don’t get me started on the country songs. I could be here all day.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

  2. Great article! I dig your walkup choices. I’d have to go with “My Hero” by the Foo Fighters. It would work if I was stepping into the batter’s box or out running errands. Wouldn’t it be great to have your theme song playing wherever you went? I’d be so stoked if I walked out of the grocery store to the sound of “There goes my hero!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

