Posted in Uncategorized

Why I Chose Not To Self-Publish

20131109-214509.jpg

It seems like anytime you go on the internet, you’ll find yet another article on a Self-Published author who has had enormous success by rejecting the Big New York Publishers and doing it all themselves.

Hooray for them. They’re living their dreams and doing it their way.

I chose a different path. I chose to sign with a small independent publisher, Lyrical Press. I felt it offered the best fit for me and my book. I had an editor who loved my book, someone to design my gorgeous cover, and do the formatting for me. I have trouble adding pictures to my blog posts and my kids learn all kinds of swear words when I try to do any kind of formatting in Word.

Everything was going along smoothly until the beginning of this year. My publisher announced on January 2 that Lyrical was now a part of Kensington Publishing. A “Big New York” publisher.

Exciting? Yes. Scary? Very.

I’ve never worked for a big company, unless you count the few months I worked at McDonalds in college.

I’m a small town girl at heart. My high school graduating class was sixty-five students. Even in college, I went to a university that was “big enough to challenge, small enough to care.”

So when I found out my wonderful editor would not be moving with me, I was tempted to take the book, find a new cover and jump into the self-publishing waters.

But, I’m not ready to do it all on my own. Especially since I’d already committed to being part of a team. My editor, line editor and cover designer had all worked hard on my book. I’ve “met” some great Lyrical authors who’ve given me a ton of advice and support.

So, while many of my author friends are jumping on the self-publishing ship, I just mailed a traditional contract to New York.

A part of me feels like I’m going against the tide. But then I’ve never done things the way most people do. I became a stay-at-home mom when my youngest started Kindergarten. I moved from an apartment into a sorority house in college and then I moved in with my mother-in-law to be without my fiancé after graduation.

I hope this is the right move for my books and my career. I’m excited about the possibilities before me. I look forward to working with my new editor (although, I’ll never forget my first) and I hope this is the beginning of a terrific publishing partnership. with many sales to come.

Besides, most readers really don’t care about how a book is published, they just want the best story I can deliver. I’m big enough to know I need help to do that.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

2 thoughts on “Why I Chose Not To Self-Publish

  1. You are so talented and have written a wonderful book. Getting it published by any reputable company that can get it in front of readers is the right move. I’m so excited for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

