Posted in Uncategorized, Writing

New Year, New Challenges

So who made New Year’s Resolutions this year? Yeah, me too.

And how many of you have already failed at least one of those resolutions?

Madly waving over here.

One of mine was to blog more consistently. And I went almost three weeks without blogging in January. Off to a bang up start, huh?I was looking forward to turning the page on 2013 and starting fresh with the new year. I was going to do all the right things in gearing up for my debut novel’s release thinking I’d be more than prepared come April 7.

A few days after Christmas I sent my publisher an e-mail asking her what steps she’d recommend for me to take in getting the ball rolling come January. She wrote back telling me she was going to have some exciting news around the 2nd, so I should hang in there until then.

Okay. No problem. Gave me an excuse to relax a bit, thinking what’s a few more days?

So on January 2, my husband’s birthday by the way, I opened up my email to find the announcement that Lyrical Press has been sold to Kensington Publishing Corporation.  A big New York publishing company.

Here is the press release announcing the sale. http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/page.aspx/LYRICALPRESS

Wow.

Taking the next step can be scary.
Taking the next step can be scary.

So, what does that mean for me and my books? Is my book still coming out on April 7th?

If everything goes as scheduled, YES.

Do I get to keep my editor?

Sadly, NO.

And what the heck am I supposed to do about promo and marketing and all that other scary stuff that I have no idea what I’m doing?

Still, not sure.

Am I excited?

YES.

Worried?

YES.

Is it hard to wait until everything falls into place?

ABSOLUTELY!!!!

But I have to have faith that I will learn and grow as an author.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

Leave a Reply

