Posted in Random, Road Trip

Lost In Suburbia

I have a terrible sense of direction. I can’t judge distances or give directions. When I started my job as yard duty for parent drop off, parents asked me how to get to the back parking lot. I’d been driving my own kids to that school for a decade and I could not remember the name of the street I drove down 180 days a year.

I resort to grunts, gestures and pointing, trying to describe how to get somewhere in my town where everything is actually uphill both ways. Don’t call me to get directions to my house, I’ll just come downtown to meet you.

My son had a doctor’s appointment with an allergist. Our new insurance isn’t local, so we had to drive to Roseville. I have never, ever, gone to Roseville without getting lost. I can’t find the mall. Part of the problem is that I try to avoid freeways whenever possible. Especially since the GPS takes me several miles out of my way to get on a road that has a bajillion stoplights to backtrack to where I’m going. There has to be a shortcut. And there is. But there are also about a bajillion shopping centers that look exactly the same. And they all have the same stores, and restaurants. So I turn in by the Game Stop to check my GPS only to find out I’ve gone too far. But I can only make a right turn and there is no U-turn, so I take a left, into another shopping center with a Game Stop and a nail salon and a Starbucks. But I have no idea how to get back on the freeway, and do I want to go North or South to head West? Or is it East or West to head South? And why is it that I hit every light green when I want to check my GPS to see if I’ve gone the wrong way?

I actually had to pull into a 7-11 to ask for directions to get back on the freeway. But the clerk was like me, she couldn’t give directions without making the motions. The guy behind me offered to have me follow him. Which was a good thing, because there were three different right hand turning lanes. I would have taken the wrong one and ended up in Sacramento before I could have turned around.

I made it to the freeway and was able to meet my husband for lunch. I decided to stop at Target. Then I got lost again trying to find my way home. Do I go North or South to go East before I can go South? It wasn’t until I got to the river that I felt like I knew where I was going.

I’m just thankful for Amazon, so I don’t have to try to find the mall.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

Leave a Reply

