Posted in Random

A Time For Giving Thanks

Iy have been so supportive of me and my writing. They might tease me about being attached to my laptop or my need to send them away occasionally when I have to get some focused writing done. They also know when to drag me out of the house to stay in touch with the real world.

I’m thankful for the family cabin where my kids have spent many holidays. New Years, Fourth of July, Presidents Day and this year we will spend Thanksgiving there with their grandparents and two of their cousins. As a kid who moved a lot, I am so glad my kids have a second place to call home.

Soldier Meadows and others 019

I am also thankful for my local chapter of Romance Writers of America. I honestly think I would have given up long ago if I hadn’t taken the leap and attended the Sacramento Valleyll Rose chapter in June of 2010. I felt like a Kindergartner who’d just mastered my ABCs in a room full of real writers. Especially when they asked me what I write. I’ve learned so much about the craft and business of writing and I’ve met so many amazing people who are also writers. I have stepped out of my comfort zone, attending workshops and actually going up to talk to the presenter afterward. I’ve gone to retreats, rooming with people I’d never met before.
For anyone who wants to write a book, I can’t think of one step more important than finding a writers group like RWA.

I’m very thankful for my editor, Piper yoDenna at Lyrical Press. I was almost ready to give up on Johnny Scottsdale’s story, when I submitted an online pitch to her. It’s amazing what having just one person outside my family and friends believe in me and my book.pilmmi

  • m
  • And of course, I’m thankful that the Giants have re-signed Hunter Pence, Tim Lincecum and Javier Lopez. I hope Tim Hudson will be a good fit and I can’t wait to see who they add to their roster before pitchers and catchers report to spring training in February.

    You didn’t think I’d write a post that didn’t have something to do with baseball did you?

    Author:

    Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

    2 thoughts on “A Time For Giving Thanks

    Leave a Reply

    