Posted in Baseball, Writing

Offseason

Some people might think there is no baseball over the winter. The fields lay fallow, the stands empty and the dugout floors remain clean.

Some folks turn their attention to other sports–football, basketball, hockey or skiing. But for some of us those are just substitutes for our real passion. Baseball.

There has been some action on the “hot stove” but for my San Francisco Giants it’s been more of a slow burn. Like a pitchers’ duel rather than a home run derby. It’s been more about tension than fireworks. Will they retain key free agents? Who will replace them if they leave? And there will almost certainly be a surprise acquisition that comes out of left field. Hopefully, to fill a need in left field.

Now that some of my favorite players are returning– Hunter Pence, Tim Lincecum and Javier Lopez– I can relax and look forward to the team that will take the field on March 31,2014.

A full week before my debut novel releases.

And like the Giants’ front office, I’ve been busy gearing up for Spring. Final rounds of edits and getting my cover art and setting up my website and trying to build an audience have kept me as busy as a free agent’s agent.

I think 2014 is going to be a great year.

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

Leave a Reply

