Posted in Baseball, Writing

Offseason Blues, or The Waiting Is the Hardest Part

Last night I dreamed of baseball. I know, I’m a fanatic. But in the dream, I was only half watching the game. The Giants were down 1-0, and were held to only one hit. And then I switched to the 49er game and they were tied, about to go into overtime. But I was flipping back and forth, because I was just waiting. Waiting for something.
Mn iipm

It doesn’t take a psychology degree to know what I’m anxiously waiting for.

My first book comes out in April, just in time for a new baseball season. Of course the two are tied in my mind. This is a good thing, my hero is a baseball player. So I can have fun with getting buzz for my book as my fellow baseball fans are getting excited for the season.

The launch of a new book is a lot like the start of a new season, filled with hope, excitement, and uncertainty. Will I hit a home run or strike out with my book? There are various levels of success for a baseball team. For some, just finishing with a better record than last year is a worthy goal.

  • y
  • For others anything less than a championship is considered a failure. And then there are so many variations in between for individuals as well as the teams.

    My writing career is kind of like that. For me, signing the book contract was like getting drafted. I celebrated with family and friends and then entered a whole new world. Instead of dreaming of being an author, I had to report to spring training (which I guess is not a real holiday, since my editor pointed out it should not be capitalized). I had to learn about cover art forms, house style requirements and the different types of editing (content edits, line edits, galley proofs). I learned the flaws in my mechanics and I hope I will be able to work them out through practice.

    So now as I wait for my professional debut, I wonder what level of success I’ll attain. Will I make the All-star team, I mean Best Seller lists? Will I have a long and successful career, or will I be a “cup of coffee” only making it in the big league for a short time?

    I’m sure I’ll have fans and others who can’t stand my work. I do plan on having a long career as an author. It’s something I’ve been dreaming of for a long time, and something I’m willing to work hard at. And even though writing is an individual sport, I know my success won’t happen without a solid team behind me. My team includes my editor, Piper Denna; Lyrical Press, my publisher; Sacramento Valley Rose chapter of Romance Writers of America and most of all my family.

    Author:

    Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

    Leave a Reply

    