Posted in Adventure, Road Trip

I Survived An All Girls’ Camping Trip

 

With my two kids away at a sleepover fine arts camp, and no Giants baseball because of the All-Star break, I went on a two night camping trip with a group of women I work with. We are all educators, some teachers, some para-educators, all of us dedicated to the kids we work with.

I joined the staff almost two years ago, after being a parent volunteer for years. One of the things I loved about the school, was the sense of community. It was obvious from the first Kindergarten information meeting. When they told us there would be a first day of school coffee and donuts for parents, I knew I was somewhere special. No crying mommies peering through the classroom window. There was a place to go and share our anxiety, coffee and pass the tissues. It was also a great way to get involved in the school community. Now that my babies have moved on to high school and middle school, I’m just staff.

And what a great group we have. We drove to Tahoe Monday afternoon. Set up three tents and brought out the appetizers. We had everything from salad to sushi, homemade salsa and guacamole, chicken wings and fruit kabobs. And wine. Of course, there was wine.

We walked to the beach, put our toes in the water and proceeded to catch up. There is nothing like the sound of women laughing. I love my boys, love guys in general. I’m a romance writer, so of course, I love men. But sometimes it’s nice to just be a little bit girly. To laugh and giggle, and discuss the benefits of a man in uniform.

We built a fire, made S’mores and put up cute daisy lights on our tents. We discussed our kids, our jobs, our husbands. We took kayaks out on the lake, almost stepped on a crawfish, and managed to avoid any mishaps. We did almost get lost coming back from the bathroom, but we had the daisy lights to guide us back to our campsite.1003013_690426777638244_1992954508_n

Author:

Author of Contemporary Romance. Wife. Mother. Educator. Sports fan. And I once trained to be a model, but I don't look like one. Most days I don't even wear makeup.

Leave a Reply

